TVs & Home Theaters

General discussion

Is this TV good enough for what I'm looking for?

by Flipmode213 / December 17, 2008 3:09 PM PST

Hello and thank you for reading my thread. Let me start off by saying that I am a big time beginner when it comes to the new TV technology. The only thing I know is that I want a 1080p Plasma (after I win the lottery).

Here's my issue:
There is a friend at work willing to sell his 50" Sony Class 3LCD Rear Projection TV (Model #: kdf-50e2000) for $300. It's 2 years old but works perfect he says. I've read the specs but am confused with some things.

This is what I want:
I have HD cable and I just bought a PlayStation 3 that has a Blu-Ray player included. So, what I really want is 1080p (since it's the best), but am willing to do 1080i IF there isnt much of a visible difference. The specs of the TV mention the Native Resolution is 720p with a Display Resolution as 1280x720. But I'm confused because it then mentions that it has 2 HDMI slots and then it says (1080i). It then goes way over my head saying there are 3LCD Chips...is that good or does it even matter?

Any help would be wonderful...and the sooner the better. The guy is waiting for an answer from me. All I want is the closest thing to 1080p (since it looks like I'm not getting that). If that means 1080i, then is it worth it (in your opinion)? I think I'm going to refuse anything 720p.

Thank you once again and have a wonderful holiday!

Jason
jleitner@charter.net

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Is this TV good enough for what I'm looking for?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates