Forum Announcement

Welcome to the new CNET Forums! Please don't panic. You are not in the Twilight Zone, you are experiencing the new CNET forums platform! Please click here to read the details. Thanks!!

Computer Help

Question

Is this kind of network possible?

by dadisam / October 12, 2012 7:53 AM PDT

First of all.. i work at a computer shop... (im not a very techie though)
1 isp... 5 ips with each having a 5mbps speed.. as they said..

our original setup is...
modem (4 port) --> linksys Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router (4port) --> Dlink Gigabit switch (24port)>> then 21 computers.. 1 is acting the time server for the 20 computers..

internet setup is static... since i used 1 of the 5 ip's available.. there's 4 more..
router ip> 172.16.2.1
so all of the computers' gateway is 172.16.2.1..

and then there is an issue regarding the speed of our net.. since it is a shop.. we cant avoid others to download (hogging all the speed).. so a lot are complaining and then im askin myself "why not use 1 more ip of the our isp.. so that there will be more speed"?

what shall i do??
should i buy another router?
and if i have that another router.. what will be the setup??

im thinking like this..

modem port 1>> 1st router(172.16.2.1)>> dlink switch>> 10 computers
com#1 ip is 172.16.2.6 sub 255.255.0.0 gateway 172.16.2.1

modem port2>> 2nd router (172.16.2.2)>> dlink switch>> 10 computers
com# 11 is 172.16.2.16 sub 255.255.0.0 gateway 172.16.2.2

that way.. each 10 computers are enjoying a full 5mbps speed.. instead of 20 sharing it right?

now im asking "is the setup wrong?" why? and what should be the correct?

if it is correct? will there be a network traffic issues?

will the time server be able to see them all?

will the 21 computers be able to see/connect each other in lan games?

please teach me how... im begging you.. lately our shop has been decreasing in customers...

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked