Storage forum

General discussion

Is there a life expectancy on external hard drives?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / May 22, 2009 5:57 AM PDT
Question:

I have been using the same 250GB external hard drive for more than five years. I backup quicken files, thousands of photos and a lot of other files to a portable drive several times a year. I would like to know if it has a life expectancy and should I eventually retire it? Are there maintenance procedures that will enable me to prolong the life of these drives or is it just a matter of luck when it goes south? Thanks so much!

Submitted by: Ted V.

Here are some featured member answers to get you started, but
please read all the advice and suggestions that our
members have contributed to this question.

Life expectancy of external hard drives varies --Submitted by ben_myers
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3048631#3048631

Life span? Definitely! --Submitted by Zorched
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3048701#3048701

Life expectancy --Submitted by Hforman
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3048661#3048661

Do external hard drives have a life expectancy? --Submitted by StephanBer
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3048643#3048643

Life of an external hard drive --Submitted by waytron
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3048865#3048865

Is there a life expectancy on external hard drives? --Submitted by alswilling
http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7588_102-0.html?messageID=3049941#3049941

If you have additional information and advice for Ted, please click on the reply link and post your answer. Please provide as much detail and information as possible in your answer. If you have proven facts, laboratory researches done, or referenced materials done for this topic please cite those resource and links in your answers to give credit to those folks who deserve it. Thank you!
Post a reply
Discussion is locked