Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

Is my anti-virus security adequate for my computer needs?

by Geary / August 24, 2005 12:42 AM PDT

I have a Dell Dimension 3000 and use Netscape anti-virus e-mail protection and Macafee anti-virus and firewall protection. I use my virus scan when I log on in the a.m and before I shut down in the evening. I use my computer primarily for e-mail and browsing the internet. I seldom download anything and nothing that warns me there might be a suspected virus in the program I am downloading. I see advertisements for Anti-Spyware and computer protection but really don't know if my protection is enough or if I should add more protection. I am using a dial-up connection. Thanks for any recommendations. I am sure this question must have been asked before on the forum but I am new to what is absolutely necessary to maintain a reasonably safe computer. Gearyat

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Is my anti-virus security adequate for my computer needs?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Is my anti-virus security adequate for my computer needs?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.