Cameras forum

General discussion

Is it worth/necessary upgrading D3000 to D5000?

by wolfbreath / May 29, 2010 5:33 PM PDT

I've had the D3000 for about a month and I'm quite happy with some great photos it took. However, I'm curious about the D5000, and I can afford it right now if I sell/trade the D3000. I'm only concerned about image quality, not any other features. I hear the processor is the same as the D90 and D300, which should make some great shots right? Or is it just dumbed down and I really won't notice the difference between the D3000 and D5000? I have about 10 years photography experience and only ever worked with low end DSLRs (budget), but I do own some nice glass. I'll be using the camera for travel mostly. My only concern is the difference in image output quality between these two cameras and if it's worth getting the D5000 instead.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Is it worth/necessary upgrading D3000 to D5000?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Is it worth/necessary upgrading D3000 to D5000?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.