Computer Help forum

General discussion

Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

by Addingle / November 13, 2006 7:35 AM PST

This is the message I get when I try to go to drudgereport, sitemeter, and a few others. As well, sometimes photos will not appear in blogs/posts. I am using IE7 and Firefox, with the problem occurring on both sides. I have a Dell Inspiron 9100, cable modem, Linksys wireless router and card. Other laptops and desktops in my house do not have this problem (at least to this extent). I use AVG anti-virus, up to date, and scan with Ewido weekly to remove spyware. I formerly used McAfee for protection, but did not like it. Using Windows XP (home. I have tried to tinker with security settings, reset both modem and router multiple times, cleaned TIF cache and history. I am not an expert, and am getting a little frustrated that I cannot access common, popular sites from this laptop. OH, I also had a very hard time getting this laptop to download IE7, while other machines did it very easily. Can anybody help?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.