How To forum

Installing Software To Windows Server Question

by Doberz / January 26, 2013 2:22 AM PST

I was at an office I'm not familiar with setting up a new PC for them. They asked if I could load their new accounting software on the 2008 Windows server to distribute it to all the PC's in the office. The software came with instructions, but at the first step, it says security levels are too high, you must lower them to install this software. I'm VERY new to servers, so I instantly got confused. Does this mean the servers firewall? Or security policies in AD? I didn't want to trial and error it on a live server during their workday.

If anyone can point me in the right direction so I can read up on it more that would awesome. Thanks.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Installing Software To Windows Server Question
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Installing Software To Windows Server Question
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.