Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Installing new HD with new XP home edition, what is OEM?

by Archangeldawn / January 30, 2007 12:24 PM PST

Hey guys I need help in making a good purchase decision.
I'm running windows 98 SE, and I plan on installing a new 160GB Hard drive with a new copy of Windows XP home edition full edition and not the upgrade edition. I'm a college student and looking for a good deal online, but I don't know what Microsoft's XP Home OEM is. Should I purchases the cheaper OEM version or the full retail one? Also I've read on the forums that I need XP SP2 edition to fully recognize the 160GB hard drive, any further tips appreciated. Thanks

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Installing new HD with new XP home edition, what is OEM?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Installing new HD with new XP home edition, what is OEM?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
OEM = Original Equipment Manufacture