Computer Newbies

General discussion

I'm a computer newb, does reformating remove virus' and..

by ali g 123 / January 28, 2008 9:18 AM PST

I reformatted after suspicion of my computer being infected with a key logger trojan.

Should i feel safe now?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I'm a computer newb, does reformating remove virus' and..
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I'm a computer newb, does reformating remove virus' and..
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
yes
by welrdelr / January 28, 2008 1:11 PM PST

just be more careful.
Use the paranoid approach to security.
Set up a dual boot with linux so that you can have an emergency system.

Collapse -
Maybe, unless the virus has effected the BIOs
by Dango517 / January 28, 2008 1:20 PM PST