Windows Legacy OS forum

I can download but programs will not run -help?

by madipaddy / May 23, 2011 1:10 AM PDT

I have win XP. I have an old tower of a computer. I did a defrag, cleared internet history, removed unused programs to make it run faster. I accomplished that although when I download something it will not RUN. I also lost my sound device.

I am a self taught novice and was a bit over zealous. Does anyone out there have any advice???

Thanks in advance Blush

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: I can download but programs will not run -help?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: I can download but programs will not run -help?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Clarification Request
What kind of downloads are you trying to run?
by Steven Haninger / May 23, 2011 8:35 AM PDT