HP forum

General discussion

HP Photosmart 2575 Problem

by ppdjoy / June 7, 2010 7:43 AM PDT

I've been using my HP Photosmart 2575 for almost 5 years now. Initially, I was using it with my old Dell desktop computer, running Windows XP. Last year, I bought a Dell Ubuntu desktop. Since then, I've been using the printer with Ubuntu. Recently, I've upgraded to Ubuntu 10.04. Since then, I've been having issues in terms of printing with this printer.

Every time I try to print something, about half or less or sometimes more of the full content is printed. But not the full content in one shot. Last time, I had to print a 3-page essay for which I had to waste more than 10 pages. Each time I tried in that instance, I just kept on wasting papers. Today, I had to print some pages which were in legal sizes (8.5 X 14 inch). I have never tried legal pages before. But this 8 page document led to more than 20 wasted papers. I'm thankful I was eventually able to print them.

I tried to install the installation CD of HP on my IBM Thinkpad T61 laptop, running Windows XP Professional SP3. But that also hindered in my luck! The CD is empty. I don't know how it happened. I installed it in my previous laptop once but this time around there was nothing in that CD. This is the same CD that came from HP initially which I installed for the first time on my Dell Windows XP desktop.

Below is a screenshot of what shows up when this occurs:

I tried the "Diagnostic" method. But each time I try that, I have to "Enable" the printer which seems to be the troubleshooting solution from that method. But after I "Enable" it, the current paper which is half-way in the printer comes out with half of what is printed. Then, the printer asks for more papers to print since I've clicked to "Enable" the printer.

PLEASE give me some solutions to this problem. Otherwise, I might have to order a new printer.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: HP Photosmart 2575 Problem