Computer Help

General discussion

hp dt7-3085dx new 1/2010..Blue Screen..>hp svs..Blue Screen!

by iwjw13 / May 13, 2010 1:48 AM PDT

I purchased a hp dt7-3085dx (operating systerm Windows 7 Home Premium, Intel core 7) and got what I NOW know as "the Blue Screen of Death". I had know idea what this could mean! I am pretty much a self taught person with limited knowledge of computers, this is only my 3rd computer, and first laptop. When I realized what a Blue Screen was I missed being able to return this notebook to Best Buys by a few days past there policy. Even though I purchased the Repair policy with Best Buys Geek Squad I thought since this laptop was under hp warrenty my best bet would be to work with hp. They were helpful, nice customer service, but he immediately told me he wasn't going to replace the laptop for me. I was led to believe that hp would be more likely to replace parts instead of the Geek Squad repairing. So I sent this lemon back to hp, two days after the return....Blue Screen of Death AGAIN! I am so frustrated, spending over $1,000. for a laptop that took me months to research for one that I could use to put my grandchildrens photos on, and I have not been able to use this for nothing more than a less expensive netbook would have allowed me. What am I to do???? I googled this problem on this model and came across others who have the same complaint! Am I stuck with this lemon?? Or do I just keep sending my notebook back again to hp for service hoping eventually they can fix it? What if it never gets fixed? What can I do and/or what should I do? Thanks so much for any help or insight you can give.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: hp dt7-3085dx new 1/2010..Blue Screen..>hp svs..Blue Screen!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.