Networking & Wireless

General discussion

How to create a login screen for wireless network

by tinhbien / November 7, 2005 12:37 PM PST

Hi everyone,
First, I want to say that I am a very novice to wireless network. So, those who take his/her valuable time helping me, please say a little bit more details for each step. Thanks a lot.

Every time I was in the hotel, bookstore, restaraunt, etc, I can access to the wireless network to browse from there. When I click on the I.E, it pops up a welcome login screen and tells me to log in. After I login, I can browse fine. So, I think that's so cool and very secure wireless network.

I just got a Wireless Netgear Router at home and I want to do the secure wireless network like the way they do. I read thoroughly the Manual and learning something like MAC filtering, SSID, WEP, ect... But none of those is actually asking the user to enter user name and the password before he/she can access to the network. I know I may already have confused you guys. But my point is How to set up the wireless network that will ask the user for the ID and password before he/she can browse the web? Please help. Very appreciate that.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How to create a login screen for wireless network
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How to create a login screen for wireless network