Cameras forum

General discussion

how important is weather sealing?

by SKNJ / November 6, 2008 5:28 PM PST

I'm a hobbyist looking to go much further during the next couple of years, and trying to decide on my next step up dslr, and it's between the Nikon d90 or d300.

Now, I like the price of the d90, (especially with the economy as of late!) and am sure that I won't out grow it for a long enough period of time to be a worthwhile purchase.

However, I'm living and traveling in Asia and SE Asia, and am touring from the sands of Mongolia to past Cambodia, much of which will be during respective monsoon seasons, sometimes in the jungle.

Bearing these climates and conditions in mind, is a weather and dust sealed model such as the d300 (with it's 18-200 kit option) a must?

That's a big step-up in price.

My gut is telling me yes, my wallet however, is singing a different tune.

Any advice?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: how important is weather sealing?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: how important is weather sealing?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.