Computer Help

General discussion

How does an external hard drive work???

by JC417 / February 5, 2010 5:06 AM PST

I have a new computer (compaq presario, 500gb HD) using windows 7. When 'staples' did the data transfer from my (old)Dell Dimension 2400, they mistakenly goofed on transfering my 'Apple i-tunes library', to where now I can't listen to my music/audiobooks. I phoned Apple tech support, they said I would have to tranfer myself with an external Hard Drive. The problem is, I've never done it before and am unsure how it works. The library contains 20gb of music/audiobooks using (i-tunes 9.0), and I don't want to pay $150.00 (unless it's absolutely my last option)for someone to come to my home to do it. I'm sure it's fairly easy but I need some help to guide me on what to do now? Staples refuses to help or take responsibility for their error, and have been rude about the whole situation. I'm on my own. Thanks JC

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How does an external hard drive work???
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How does an external hard drive work???
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.