Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

How do I wipe a computer clean?

by NewNewBie / February 3, 2008 12:26 PM PST

I just bought a used computer from a yard sale. It has a bunch of stuff on it. Stuff I don't need or would use. How do I delete the whole hard drive & start from scratch? Can I do that or do I just have to keep all of this stuff? Also if I do delete the whole thing, do I need a certain disk to put windows back or will it come back?

The computer is an emachines. I don't really know what tell about it. This is my first computer. I've used friends, but never one of my own. So I'm new to all this stuff.

Thanks for all your help.
Misty

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do I wipe a computer clean?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How do I wipe a computer clean?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
OK.. You've Asked a BIGGIE......
by tobeach / February 3, 2008 4:17 PM PST