TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

How do I record a VHS tape onto a DVD recorder?

by jccole / February 22, 2004 11:45 AM PST

I want to record some VHS home movies onto a DVD. I have an excellent DVD+R burner in my new Dell desktop and, although I am not a computer novice, I don't know how to do this. Assuming there is an appropriate software package to enable me to do this, how is it done? Is the VHS movie created on the hard disk in real time with the DVD burning from this file? Is the same true for recording a cassette tape onto the CD+R crive?

Joe

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do I record a VHS tape onto a DVD recorder?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How do I record a VHS tape onto a DVD recorder?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re:How do I record a VHS tape onto a DVD recorder?
by Art / February 22, 2004 4:06 PM PST

For computer, three things.