Computer Help

Question

How do i know what CPUs are compatible wiht my MOBO?

by nathanfrabott / December 29, 2012 3:17 AM PST

So i am fairly new to computer hardware, and i am looking to slowly update my parts, my current CPU is a Intel Pentium 2.6 GHz dual-core and i am looking for an i5 processor or at least a very good i3 processor to replace my current one. The only problem is that i don't really know how to tell what kind of MOBO i have, i downloaded a program to tell me i just don't know how to read it properly enough to do my own diagnosis. Would someone please tell me what CPU (the cheapest you can find) is compatible with my MOBO? Here is what my current MOBO is(i think) correct me if i am wrong and i will post something else: Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me!

Motherboard::
Manufacturer:Pegatron

Model: Benicia 1.01

Chipset: intel P35/G33/G31 Rev:A2

Southbridge:Intel 82801IR (ICH9R) Rev:02

LPCIO: Fintek F8000

BIOS:
Brand: American Megatrends Inc

Version:5.39

Date: 05/06/2009

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do i know what CPUs are compatible wiht my MOBO?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: How do i know what CPUs are compatible wiht my MOBO?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.