Laptops forum

General discussion

How do I bring new life to my older Windows laptop?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / August 10, 2012 8:38 AM PDT
Question:
How do I bring new life to my older Windows laptop?

I have a Sony Vaio laptop running Windows- 4 yrs old. It's been great.
Now for several months very slow to start, upload and get web pages. I
don't use this computer for pictures, videos, music etc. Plenty of hard
drive space available and RAM. Had a geek clean it up. He installed:
Superantispyware and Loaris Trojan remover. Said I had lots of
spyware and Trojans on my computer. Surprised as I have a Kapersky
program on that says I am clean. His clean up and mine = no
improvement at all. What is my next step? I am a retired nurse and am
more computer literate than my contemporaries, but way behind the
curve with you younger people. I'm on a fixed income and in this
economy would like not to have to buy a new laptop. I am a writer and
have a book contract - so really need a fast and reliable laptop. I
see web sites that promise speed ups but don't know if they are
trustworthy?? Any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.
It's bad when you are getting old and slow, and your laptop is getting
older and slower than you are!!

- Submitted by Julianna R.

Note: This post was edited by its original author on 08/17/2012 at 9:50 AM PT
Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: How do I bring new life to my older Windows laptop?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates