TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Home theatre set up - blue ray, cable box, receiver, HDTV

by sharpey13 / March 3, 2009 3:39 AM PST

Hi - new to the forum, but frequent patron of Cnet and this forum (thank you for all the previous help!).

Ok, I'm not a complete newbie to home a/v, but far from an expert. My wife and I have a fairly basic set up, and I'm just looking to get the most out of what I have. I have a 50" Samsung DLP tv in a fairly large room, sectional sofa about 10-12' away from it. It has two component video inputs, 1 HDMI input, and the standard red/white/yellow outputs). I have two Polk Rti38's for my front right/left, a Polk CS1 center channel speaker, and a Polk sub. I don't plan on adding rear right/left in this room (too much trouble wiring all the way to the back for now). I have a new Samsung blue ray player (with 7.1 channel audio output, component video output, digital optical audio out, and 1 HDMI out), a Motorola cable box (Comcast) with component video out, analog audio out, digital optical audio out, and DVI out. Finally, I have an older Pioneer receiver (VSX710S) with analog audio inputs, 2 digital optical inputs, 5.1 channel analog audio inputs, but no HDMI.

Ok - here's how I have things set up:

Cable box to receiver & TV - analog (red/white) audio out to red/white audio in on receiver (and receiver set to 'analog' and 'dolby digital standard' setting when watching TV), component video out to component video in on TV

Blue ray to receiver & TV - analog (red/white) audio out to red/white audio in on receiver (and receiver set to 'analog' 'dolby digital standard' setting when watching blue ray or DVD), HDMI out from blue ray to TV.