Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Home Network Advise - Please Help

by Methodman1 / May 23, 2005 1:01 AM PDT

Hi all,

I just recently moved into a house, and would like to set up a home network. The following is what I currently have:

1. Cable Internet connection
2. Xbox Live
3. PS2
4. Tivo

My Internet connection is on the second floor of the house, and my TV (w/Xbox, PS2, Tivo) is downstairs.

What would be your suggestion on how to get all of these components tied together? I was thinking wireless, but I'm not convinced that it is the way to go considering wireless is interfered with by 2.4GHz phones, which we just purchased. Also, I was told by a salesperson at "Best" Buy that Tivo needs a "certain" type of wireless device which they did not carry.

I've never had high speed internet, therefore I'm totally new to this stuff. Any light you could shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Home Network Advise - Please Help
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Home Network Advise - Please Help
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.