Computer Help forum

Question

Help with computer problem

by DawnW / September 14, 2013 11:33 AM PDT

I work in Word 2002 every day for my job (that's the version my boss wants to use). The other morning my computer had rebooted overnight, and everything now in My Documents has the symbol of Express Scribe, which is a transcriptionist software that I use, next to it, and whenever I open an email from her with an attachment of a project to do, it no longer opens right into Word like it used to. It is now a DOC file and it is trying to open it in Express Scribe too. I have no clue what happened, but I'm ready to lose my mind! I was able to do a system restore, which temporarily works, but then it goes right back to being messed up. I'm not very good with computers, so if anyone can help, please be specific!

Thanks!!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help with computer problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Help with computer problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.