Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

Help with Antivirus 2009 virus

by Bedlington / July 10, 2008 1:51 AM PDT

Vostro 1400 Dell laptop windows vista

I am an old novice so be kind!

My son's laptop had numerous boxes appearing saying there were a number of infestations and that it was not protected and to upgrade to Antivirus 2009-I knew it was a virus. Have ran everything from Windows defender to spybot that was already on his laptop and removed what has appeared until the system is clear. It is tricky as the boxes keep appearing over whatever is running and the screen will go blue with a warning to upgrade to Antiviris 2009 now and then more boxes every few minutes.

All the boxes have now gone (after spybot removal) but if I look on the taskbar and goto programs there is an icon which is a blank page and says 'Antivirus Scan' and another 'Online Spyware Test' (both appeared july 2nd). Right click and properties leads to www.securefreelinks but this is a fictional website, though it leads to another one. If you left click it trys to install Antivirus 2009. If you right click and goto 'delete' the message is 'are you sure you want to move this file to recycle bin' another message asks you to confirm and then it runs for ages so feared it was loading this upgrade virus so have stopped that action and deleted such in safemode where they appear to have gone quickly.

The problem is I can find no references to the virus on established PC websites. Those with 'Antivirus 2009 Removal' seem to have suspiciously popped up only recently.

Anybody have any easy to follow helps that can guide me to a clean laptop?

Thank you

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help with Antivirus 2009 virus
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates