Computer Help forum

Help Needed... New build and PC won't boot up??

by markeyd / May 23, 2013 7:11 PM PDT

Motherboard-Gigibyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU-Intel Core i7-3770
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz
PSU-Corsair TX 650 M
Hard Drives-SanDisk Extreme SSD 240 GB SATA 6.0 Gb-s 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200RPM SATA 32 MB Cache 3.5-Inch
Case-Corsair Carbide 500R

Hey guys,
I'm a fairly experienced builder. This is my sixth build so far but this problem has my head wrecked. Just cant figure it out.
I've just built this PC with all new components and when I power on all fans spin and BIOS light on motherboard comes on but only for about 2 seconds. After that the BIOS light goes off and all fans including PSU fan stop spinning. Then after about 4 seconds the BIOS light comes back on and all fans spin again for another 2 seconds and then go back off and everything comes back on again. This sequence keeps repeating itself over and over.
I've ruled out the PSU as I've replaced it with a working one from another machine and still have same problem.
The motherboard has 2 BIOS's a main and a backup with a switch to choose which one to boot from. I've tried both and still the same problem. I've also cleared the cmos and tried only 1 stick of ram but still no joy.
I'm guessing it's a motherboard problem or perhaps a faulty cpu.
Any advise from you guys would be most welcome as I'm pulling my hair out now at this stage.
Thanks in advance

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Help Needed... New build and PC won't boot up??
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates