Computer Help

Resolved Question

Help! Have I been scammed by shop who built my new computer?

by Vanillaman / November 4, 2012 9:17 PM PST

I have just paid £360 for an computer upgrade. When I explained what I wanted, they suggested these specifications, which is what I have paid for. However, I am not technically savvy, so I don't know whether I've been conned or not. I would be extremely grateful if someone could look over the information for me and confirm whether or not I have been scammed? This first list is copied from their own handwriting, so there may be some slight errors. The specs I purchased, as recommended are:

AM3+ 9700E3 (or First suggestion: Aspect FM1, ASSM-HUS motherboard)
Dual Core Processor
8Gb RAM
1Tb Hard drive
610 GT Graphics card

These are the actual specs according to my system information:

Component Details Subscore Base score
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 450 Processor 6.9 4.6
Determined by lowest subscore

Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB 7.4
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 4.6
Gaming graphics 4096 MB Total available graphics memory 6.4
Primary hard disk 826GB Free (931GB Total) 5.9
Windows 7 Home Premium

System
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Manufacturer To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Model To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Total amount of system memory 8.00 GB RAM
System type 64-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 3

Storage
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total size of hard disk(s) 1863 GB
Disk partition (C:) 826 GB Free (931 GB Total)
Media drive (D:) CD/DVD
Disk partition (E:) 603 GB Free (932 GB Total)

Graphics

Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce GT 610
Total available graphics memory 4096 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 3072 MB
Display adapter driver version 9.18.13.697
Primary monitor resolution 1360x768
DirectX version DirectX 10

Network