Computer Newbies forum

Question

HDMI input and output

by seasider113 / January 21, 2012 6:48 PM PST

I am getting a new desktop and want advice.Do I need HDMI input and output.What would they be used for?Obviously I am a complete novice.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: HDMI input and output
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: HDMI input and output
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Clarification Request
Another port
by Willy / March 19, 2012 1:24 AM PDT
In reply to: HDMI input and output

HDMI ports are becoming the "goto" ports for modern future PCs. It just makes it possible to use any benefits it provides and it is a std. that's accepted and makers understand. Cables are aplenty and overall many users do connect to home TVs will become a more desirable port as in "generic" for connections. So, expect to see more of this as time goes.

tada -----Willy Happy

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
Generally