Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Have 2GB RAM- Reccomended amt.of Virtual Memory?

by Herbo13 / September 6, 2006 5:46 AM PDT

Hi everyone. I have a Dell 4700 running Windows XP Pro w/ 2GB RAM installed. I run a Penitium 4 (3.4 GHZ, I believe), Nvidea 6600 Graphics Card, Creative Live! 24-Bit Internal sound, Printer, Broadband Internet. I also have 2 user accounts set up (which sometimes run simultaneously) and run alot of the normal programs including Panda Internet Security, Microsoft Office and The Sims2 w/ all expansions (HUGE Memory Hog). My Question is- With these specs, what amount of space should I alot to the Virtual Memory to on my C: Drive? Windows recommended amount or should I increase it some (mainly due to the Sims2? I want a quick boot up of course, but also all the least load and stall time possible. I'm kinda new to this so please be specific. Thanks in advance!

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Have 2GB RAM- Reccomended amt.of Virtual Memory?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Have 2GB RAM- Reccomended amt.of Virtual Memory?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.