Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

Hardware specific software

by MrBuzzard / April 5, 2013 2:01 PM PDT

Hello to the forum. I am looking for information that would help me understand how a program could be written that will only work with certain hardware; for example, a program that would work with an Intel CPU but would not work with an AMD CPU, number of cores and speed being relatively equal. I am not a programmer, nor do I know any machine language.
Thank you

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Hardware specific software
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Hardware specific software
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: hardware specific software
by Kees_B Forum moderator / April 5, 2013 8:11 PM PDT

In the program, check the contents of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0\ProcessorNameString in the registry. If it doesn't start with "Intel" give an error message and don't continue.