Laptops forum

General discussion

Good netbook for a college student?

by Berner_girl / May 12, 2010 1:25 AM PDT

Hey all,

I'm a newbie to the forum, but I wanted to ask some opinions. I have been doing a bit of research on netbooks, as my laptop has crashed and I am in need of a computer for school.

I am looking for a computer that I can generally do your basic internet and Word Processing on. I would like to play music on it, but I have external speakers, so great speakers aren't a necessity. Battery life is also no object to me; I almost always have access to an outlet, and I almost always work with my computer plugged in. I would like to find something that will last me a while, but it seems like netbooks are too new to the market to really make good judgments about longevity. I am not willing to pay more than $400.

I've been burned by a crappy HP Pavilion dv2000 which has had virtually every problem in the book in its short 1.5 years with me, and so I am not wild about the idea of an HP mini. I have heard good things about Toshiba laptop longevity, but there seem to be a lot of reviews of Toshiba netbooks that cite problems with wifi (which would be a problem for me). So far an ASUS eee PC looks like the netbook for me, but I have no idea if ASUS computers are generally worth their salt or not.

So, can anyone give me some recommendations?

Thanks for any help,
Elizabeth

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Good netbook for a college student?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates