TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Getting More Out of My Sub

by pn56matt / October 29, 2006 1:16 PM PST

After reading the current sub thread I've found it amazing to see how much goes into finding the right sub for one's HT. After looking at Good Guys, Ken Cranes, and a local high end audio store, I purchased a velodyne SPL-1200II. I got it for a really great price used and love it. However, being a noob and novice i have seen that just because you have a beefy sub doesn't mean it's going to sound great in certain room setups. Thanks to those of you sharing your wealth of knowledge and experience.

Here's my deal: The output of the sub is extremely low in both the low and high frequencies. I have tested certain movies with scenes that I am familiar with. I especially notice it in the lower frequencies. I have a Yamaha with the YPAO and have done multiple settings along with my own adjustments and still have had no luck. I have the sub's volume up to half (in the living room it was 30%) I have all my speakers set to small, the Yamaha's x-over is at 80hz and sub's is at 100hz.

I just recently made a spare 10'x10' bedroom upstairs into a HT room. The floor is PERGO (sub is on this) with a 9'x6' area carpet. I placed the sub in the front left corner which is opposite the door (I've placed it in between the tv and my left front tower as well). It is angled 45 degrees facing the center of the room (i've also tried facing straight forward). These are really the only practical places for it as the rear of the room is way too close to where we sit (no furniture, just a lot of large pillows).

Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get more out of my sub. Would it take an EQ to fix this. It frustrates me to know what this sub is capable of doing and not getting those results.

Thanks for your help and taking the time to read all this babble.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Getting More Out of My Sub