Computer Help forum

General discussion

External hard drive reported as RAW

by terryjon / July 31, 2007 6:13 PM PDT

I have a FAT32 formatted Western Digital external hard drive. I cannot access the drive.
Vista reports it as a RAW drive that needs to be formatted. I have no knowledge of formatting a drive.

I thought of taking a chance and formatting it. But I noticed further that the windows says the drive is totally empty.

When the drive was working pretty well it showed 60% filled. Where is my data gone.

Any advice suggestions tips that can relly help me.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: External hard drive reported as RAW
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: External hard drive reported as RAW
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
I'd start with ..
by Kees Bakker / July 31, 2007 7:57 PM PDT

connecting this drive to another PC (running XP maybe) and see what it says about it.