Computer Help forum

General discussion

Error: File System is damaged. PLEASE HELP!?

by collincarey / October 23, 2007 4:17 AM PDT

Hello all,

Hopefully someone can aid me in resolving this issue ASAP. Basically O&O Defrag (v10) continues to tell me that my main drive (a 320GB Hitachi SATA HDD) has a damaged file system after every CHKDSK. Over the past several days I have run every CHKDSK scan/repair that I could manage (e.g. CHKDSK /P /R from Recovery Console, A "Fix file system and repair bad sectors" scan from the "Disk" tools in Windows, etc...), yet I am always greeted with the same problem. Error: File system is damaged. I have even gone so far as to rebuild the MBR and the Boot sector to no avail. I am guessing the problem lies in the MFT (although I am not an expert), because after rebuilding the MBR, a large cluster of data (Approximately 50 GB) that was once labeled as Reserved for the $MFT in O&O disappeared, magically freeing up said 50 GB from used HDD space. Any help would be greatly appreciated for I do not wish to do what seems to inevitably be my only option... reformat.

(Also, as of last night Copy and Paste functionality was not working, if that helps with the diagnosis.) (And this drive is less then half a year old, so there is really no reason for it to go bad this early in its lifetime.)

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Error: File System is damaged. PLEASE HELP!?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates