Office & Productivity Software

General discussion

Erratic Cursor when using touchpad

by huntlp / June 6, 2008 3:33 PM PDT

I just purchased a Dell Inspiron 1525 Laptop/ Vista Premium operating system and since I first turned it on the Cursor when using the touchpad is either hard to get moving or goes where it wants to. I am constantly playing with it to get it to go where I want. I have tried adjusting the presure or sensitivity. Wnen the Mouse is connected it works perfectly. But I like using the touch pad for convienance and plus thats what I paid Dell for.
I had an on line chat with a Technition at Dell. He did a remote connection and worked on the Bios and several other items. When he finished I thought it was better but its still the same. Its 6 days old and I am so frustrated. I am a novice so to much detail will scare me. Oh and I disabled the Tapping to stop it from landing on items and opening then up when working on other items. I may have to try Dell again.
Does anyone have a fix for this problem? It appears that I am not alone!
Thanks so much,
Larry

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Erratic Cursor when using touchpad
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Erratic Cursor when using touchpad
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.