Audio & Video Software forum

General discussion

Erasing DVD-R: it can be done, with limitations

by Jay M / January 19, 2006 10:27 PM PST

I have been using DVD-r for 3 years now and have always understood that this medium is for one-only recording.
However, just to experiment, I tried erasing a DVD-r with about 20 minutes worth of material recorded on it. The disc came up completely blank, with a full 2hrs of time in SP mode. I have done this many times since, and discover I can erase up to around 30 minutes and salvage the entire disc. I use stand-alone Panasonic DMR E-30 for recording. This will not work with a computer DVD writer.

Just wanted to share that with others who have been frustrated by botched recording and have thrown away discs that may have been re-usable. Has anybody else run across this?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Erasing DVD-R: it can be done, with limitations
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Erasing DVD-R: it can be done, with limitations
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.