Storage forum

General discussion

Ease of using an external hard drive

by 9768913 / January 20, 2007 7:25 AM PST

I am thinking about buying an external hard drive to save mainly my music, pictures, and word documents. I really don't have anything else that important to back up or worry about. But I have a few questions I can't seem to find an answer for.

1. If I buy a new external is it as simple as plugging in the USB and begin copying and pasting files to that drive?

2. I have noted from other threads the external would not be safe from being infected with viruses and such and being completely wiped out. Would simply unplugging the external drive when not in use protect it from the bugs?

3. I can use the external to shuffle information between two computers right? (ie. desktop in my dorm room and desktop at home) I know this is a very basic and simple question, but I'm a computer newbie and just overwhelmed with all the different ways of storing info.

Thanks for any help I can get.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Ease of using an external hard drive
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Ease of using an external hard drive
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.