Cameras forum

Resolved Question

DSLR or Dedicated Video Cam? (please read circumstances)

by airfork / May 31, 2013 4:55 PM PDT

Hello,
So I see many, many different articles and posts pertaining to this question, though just about every single one of them was answered according to a few variables of the question poster. I have a very, very unique situation in which I won't have the luxury of a "do-over".

I'd first like to point out that I'm not experienced at all. I'm a salty 32 y/o paratrooper veteran who has spent my life in either the army, the hospital as a disabled vet or the academia environment, trying to set a positive role model to my children. The only familiarity I have with photo/video, was from a film-making lab that I took back in college.

Unfortunately, I received some pretty bad news not too long ago; I'm sick and dying. I'm sure that I at least have a few years to go and this whole dying thing wouldn't be so bad if it just solely affected me. However, it won't just affect me, as I have a small little boy to whom I have been both mother and father to. We are attached at the hip and have easily become best friends. From the moment he came out of his mother's womb, I fed him, clothed him, rocked him to sleep and bathed him. I was literally both his mom and his dad. The only parent that this sweet and affectionate blonde-haired and blue-eyed little boy has ever known, will soon be gone. I'm going to try to shield my precious little son from as much hurt and emotional turmoil as possible. I don't want my passing to negatively affect his life.

So, I was to document my life through photos and video. I first had noticed that the only photos of me, were taken when I was in the army, dirty and deployed with weapons in my hand -and of course, that steely eye'd look that war eventually gives to anyone. It's hardly the photos that I want my son to remember me by.