TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Do I need an amp? (Receiver to Speaker question)

by onoano / December 3, 2007 11:58 PM PST

Hi. I'm trying to put a system together. I have a sony STR-D365 receiver and two cerwin vega E-715 loudspeakers that i'd like to put to use for a dj setup. The receiver specs are AC 120V 60Hz 186W. The speaker specs are 15" 3-way floor stander, 400 watts power handling, 102 dB sensitivity, Self-resetting tweeter, 81 (36Kg) pounds a piece, One red-ringed driver per speaker.

can i plug the receiver straight to the speakers without burning it out? or will I need an amp of some sort? any suggestions on an amp? I've never used an amp for a stereo setup before.

Also, the speaker cable inserts on the speaker have a red and black plug in and a fuse cap. I think it takes the cables with the jagged end tip, can anyone tell me what these are called?

One other note, the receiver I have says Impedance use 8-16ohms. While I believe I may have read that the speakers work with receivers of 8 or under ohms. Does this overlap?

Thank you.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Do I need an amp? (Receiver to Speaker question)
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Do I need an amp? (Receiver to Speaker question)
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.