Smart Home & Appliances

General discussion

*Digital* VCR/DVR Combo and *Analog* TV?

by HHank / December 22, 2008 10:08 AM PST

Can I connect my "on the roof" antenna to a Digital VCR/DVR Combo (with a Digital Tuner), and then run the "antenna out" cable to a Digital Converter box tuned to channel 3 or 4 and then run the antenna out on the converter box to an analog TV? If so, I could use the VCR to record one channel while I viewed another? Also, would I have to leave the VCR "on" when just watching TV programs through the converter box? Walmart is selling these Digital VCR Combo's for $179.95 each, and I don't know whether their sales people always know what they are talking about. It does seem feasible , but I'm no expert. Does anyone have an answer or suggestion?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: *Digital* VCR/DVR Combo and *Analog* TV?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: *Digital* VCR/DVR Combo and *Analog* TV?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.