Internet Services Providers

General discussion

Dial-up to Internet freezes computer upon connection

by Windrider6 / January 20, 2007 5:34 PM PST

I'm a computer tech and have encountered the same problem on several of my clients' computers. This is a dial-up problem in Windows XP, and has occurred on several different machines that had different configurations.

Dial-up to Internet, and it freezes up the computer for awhile. Not totally frozen, just cannot open any new processes. Eventually the freeze-up resolves itself, and all the processes/programs I tried to start suddenly all start at once.

I've spent months trying to solve this problem. Now I'm asking for help! Please!

I've finally discovered what starts the problem: Running the Network Setup Wizard.

If I start with a clean re-installation of Windows XP & software, the dial-up Internet works fine. Then I run the Network Setup Wizard, so I can network the client's computer with mine over my network (router connecting multiple computers and high-speed Internet together), so I can transfer large amounts of data back and forth with ease. THAT'S when the dial-up problem starts. Once I have run the Windows XP Network Setup Wizard, anything I try to do to clear up the freeze-up problem with the dial-up will inevitably not work in the long run. Stuff I've tried may work a few times (giving me false hope), but then the freeze-up problem reoccurs.

When connected to high-speed Internet using the network card, the Internet connection works fine.

Thus, I'M THE ONE who has caused this freeze-up problem on my clients' computers, by running the Windows XP Network Setup Wizard.

What I've eliminated as causing the problem:

It is not hardware. I've confirmed that the modems work fine. There are no conflicts with any hardware. I've even cleared the BIOS by discharging it, and reconfiguring the BIOS.

Of course, I've disconnected my network from the computer(s) in question.