Internet Service Providers forum

General discussion

Dial-Up speed problem! Need expert advise.

by karansawan / December 22, 2008 12:01 AM PST

Hello everybody,

I have a simple problem (well, not so simple actually).

I have a dail-up connection which the I.S.P says is 75kbps.

Sometimes, when I start a download by using any download accelerator or with browser native download manager, i get a speed of around 165 kbps and sometimes even above but with each second, it comes down and becomes stable around 7 or 8 kbps.

Why cant the speed remain stable around 165 kbps?

I have a UTStarcom UT-300R2 modem with Reliance Broadband connection in India.

Please tell me any solution.

I am an expert guy so if you want me to tweak some advanced settings or anything lke that, don't hesitate.

Any help would be appreciated.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dial-Up speed problem! Need expert advise.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Dial-Up speed problem! Need expert advise.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.