Laptops forum

Dell laptop won't turn on

by nchowdhury07 / May 28, 2011 2:18 PM PDT

I have a Dell Studio 1536 laptop. Almost 2 years old. It has always
worked perfectly fine. I was using it earlier then put it in sleep mode.
i came back 30 minutes later and tried to turn it on but it won't
start. the power light turns on but the screen remains black as if there
is no power. i also can't hear the harddrive whirring or booting up. I
tried the trick where you reset the laptop and put power back in, but
that won't work. I then went inside the laptop, reseated the memory and
harddrive, but no luck still. same problem persists. i have a temperature reader on my laptop and the last time i used it nothing was alarming; it definitely had no temperatures to suggest it was overheating.
any help would be really really really appreciated. i am a college student and need my laptop badly.

Thanks in advance

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Dell laptop won't turn on
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Dell laptop won't turn on
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.