Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

D:\ (partition) doesn't show up in "My Computer"\Explorer

by OloRin / October 31, 2003 1:42 AM PST

Hi all,

First I am new to XP but not new to computers.

I got a new-ish thinkpad with two partitions on it's drive. The c:\ primary one was NTFS, there was another for SERVICE which was FAT32. I promptly proceeded to using PartitionMagic to break up my huge c:\ partition into 3 partitions (all primary - now I have 4 primary partitions, 4th being the SERVICE fat32 one), the first 3 being NTFS.

Went into Administration Tools, Disk Management and assigned the letters sequentially for D:\ and E:\ (and hid the SERVICE fat32 partition). Everything looks good.

Except that whenever I open explorer/my computer, in local drives it doesn't list the D:\ partition - Not a conflict with the CD drive as that's been assigned H:\ and it does show up.

I can type d:\ in the explorer bar and it opens up but otherwise I don't see that icon listed! It's making me wild!! I checked Explorer-Tools-Folder options and Hide hidden folders is not set. PartitionMagic doesn't say that my d:\ partition is hidden or anything.

It's driving me wild!! Sad

I am hoping for some help here...

Thanks...
ps. I wonder how many folks are turned off by the subject title into thinking that this is another problem with somebody who installed second hard drive... Happy

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: D:\ (partition) doesn't show up in "My Computer"\Explorer
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates