Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

D-Link DIR-655 router - new installation, slow connection

by djr1904 / February 25, 2008 2:05 PM PST

I get around computers pretty well but I'm a wireless networking newbie. And after plenty of research and phone calls to tech support, I'm stumped.

I just bought a new HP Pavilion DV9700T. I also bought the D-Link DIR-655 to connect to my five-year-old custom-built desktop PC. I have cable internet through a Motorola Surfboard modem. So I popped in the CD and ran the setup wizard. Everything seemed to go fine - the wizard detected all my connection, didn't even ask me any questions, and I was good to go. But I noticed right away that my internet connection was significantly slower. Usable, but about 80% slower than normal (I tested it).

So I removed the router from the equation and just hooked up the desktop PC to the cable modem. The internet speed was back to normal.

I reconnected the router and reset it. Updated the firmware. Read the manual, visited online support, and mess with every setting I could think of. Still, the connection was slow. (I should mention at this point that both the desktop PC and Pavilion had similarly slow speeds through the router.)

I confirmed with my cable company that it wasn't a setting on their end that needed adjusting. Then I called D-Link. On the online configuration tool, they had me go under the Setup tab, then to Manual Internet Connection Setup, then entering in the Primary DNS Server box and in the Secondary DNS Server box. (They tried to explain what this meant but I didn't catch it.)