Laptops

Question

custom laptop?

by dhinge / December 10, 2012 3:08 AM PST

I am a web developer and prefer the older laptops of yore, and I cannot find a current laptop that suits my needs as well as the one I have, however the one I have is getting outdated.

Since I can't find what I want anywhere, I am looking to have one custom built. Here are the specs I'm looking for:

4:3 resolution (non-widescreen SXGA or SXGA+).
Most ports on the back, not on the side.
Decent keyboard (not tiny arrow keys).
Intel i5 or i7.
Windows 7.
4-8 GB of RAM.
Non-integrated video graphics (keeps Aero running fast).
14"-15" display (fits on my portable desktop).

Even if I can't get all of it, is there some place I can have something custom-made or modified? I've even thought about modifying my current model to fit a modern motherboard so I can't install a modern chip on it.

Thanks.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: custom laptop?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: custom laptop?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.