Audio & Video Software forum

Resolved Question

Created wave file skips

by ldr44 / February 9, 2013 8:48 AM PST

I have a pc with XPPro, service pack 3, with 2.5 GB of memory. Each time I create an audio wave file from an LP and play it back, I find that it skips. The LP does not skip as I monitor the recording as it's playing.

I've used two different wave editor programs leaving me with the same results. I've defragged my hard drive and ran Memtest to confirm that my memory is fine. I've also used three different versions of the same wave editor program and also used the Real Time Recorder feature of that same wave editor program. Everything I've tried results in the same skipping wave file. I've had plenty of experience using the one wave editor program in the past on this same machine and it at one time worked well with no problems.

At this point, all I can think of is that there must be another application on the computer that is interfering with the wave editor program.

Has anyone experienced this problem? If so, what is the solution? Any feedback, solutions, or suggestions would be much appreciated!

ldr44 has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Created wave file skips
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Created wave file skips