Mac OS forum

General discussion

Copy Preferences Folder Betwenn User Accounts

by dschwartzer / September 2, 2009 2:36 AM PDT

I am currently running 10.5.8 on a new 13" MacBook Pro. I am having an issue syncing contacts to my iPhone. On the first sync when I plug the phone in, iTunes syncs without issue but if I try to sync again, the sync process stalls on contacts for about 10 minutes.

I have made several visits to my local Apple Store. The Genius Bar technician swapped out my iPhone to eliminate that as a cause and removed several preference files but the problem remains. Their best guess is that there is a damaged preference file in my Home/Libraray/Preferences folder but they can't figure out which one it is. They suggested doing an Archive & Install without saving User settings and preferences but that will entail a hugh amount of extra work for me to load all of my third party apps, data, etc.

I was thinking that I could accomplish the same end result if I created a new user on the MacBook and copied the clean Home/Library/Preferences folder from the new user into my "real" user library and then let the system rebuild all of the preference files as I use the applications, etc. When I look through my Preferences folder I see a lot of old, probably unneeded files anyway from when I migrated to the MacBook Pro from my old G5 iMac so I would be getting rid of a lot of "junk" file at the same time. I realize I will lose all of my application settings but that seem slike a small price to pay compared to rebuilding the entire system.

My question is, does this plan seem to make sense or is there more to the Preferences folder than I am aware of and will I get into more trouble?

Any thoughts or insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,


David

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Copy Preferences Folder Betwenn User Accounts
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Copy Preferences Folder Betwenn User Accounts
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Preference Files
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / September 2, 2009 4:26 AM PDT

The Archive and install does the same kinda thing but saves the preferences.
If you do an archive and install without saving settings and preferences, you will end up with just the default settings until you actually use an application.
All of your data and third party apps will remain intact.

By all means create a new account and see if the problem persists when you sync your contacts, which you may not be able to get to because they are in the original account.
Try the Archive and Install route too

P

Collapse -
Copy Preferences Folder Betwenn User Accounts
by dschwartzer / September 2, 2009 4:57 AM PDT
In reply to: Preference Files

Thanks for the quick reply. The problem with the Archive & Install is that without saving user settings and preferences, all of the data and applications end up in a Prior System folder at the Macintosh HD level. That would require me to reinstall all third party application and data. Not a quick or easy task.

As far as getting to the data, it will be on the iPhone. Shouldn't that get loaded on the first sync? If not, I can export the Address Book and iCal data and import it into the new user before I sync.

Collapse -
Archive and install
by mrmacfixit Forum moderator / September 2, 2009 11:02 AM PDT

Someone has seriously misled you.

Archive and Install does not delete anything and does not move any applications to a Prior System folder.

The only thing in the old system folder is old system stuff.

All the applications, whether yours or Apples, remain in the Application folder.
Preserving User Settings and preferences does just that, saves setting and preferences.

You might want to check this Apple article http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1710

P

Popular Forums
icon
Computer Help 47,885 discussions
icon
Computer Newbies 10,322 discussions
icon
iPhones, iPods, & iPads 3,188 discussions
icon
Security 30,333 discussions
icon
TVs & Home Theaters 20,177 discussions
icon
HDTV Picture Setting 1,932 discussions
icon
Phones 15,713 discussions
icon
Windows 7 6,210 discussions
icon
Networking & Wireless 14,510 discussions

Tech for the school year

Smart tech for smart students

Forget the pencils and notebooks. Gear up your students with these portable and powerful note-taking machines.