Audio & Video Software forum

Resolved Question

Convert MPEG audio files to play in car CD player?

by elliehowe / September 15, 2012 8:53 AM PDT

I recently purchased and downloaded songs from Amazon, and they are all in MPEG-1 Layer 3 format. I had to download some special software from Amazon to be able to play them on my PC. Now I want to convert them to a format I can play on my car CD player. Would that be WAV? Or something else?

How would I convert them? Some special software? Or?

I had purchased some songs from iTunes awhile ago, and they were labeled as "Protected AAC audio format." I was able to simply copy those from my PC to a CD that works well in my car. (My PC has Windows 7, if that's relevant...)

I am a newbie at this audio stuff -- MP3 and MP4 and all. I'm still stuck back in WAV I think... so once again I turn to my friends/advisors/saviors/experts/buddies at CNET Forums to help me. Many thanks! Ellie

elliehowe has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Convert MPEG audio files to play in car CD player?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Convert MPEG audio files to play in car CD player?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.