Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Computer/mouse hanging up with no apparent cause...

by cmk59 / June 6, 2006 7:58 AM PDT

My system is an 19 month old HP Pavilion with an Athlon XP 3200 processor, 756meg of RAM and a half-full 200GB hard drive. (I have a 300 GB drive slaved to it, but haven't used it yet.) I run Windows XP Home, and operate behind a Cisco firewall router and Sygate firewall to inhibit unwanted intrusions. I've checked for every bug and virus currently known to man, Microsoft, AVG and SpyBot S&D, and can't find anything else that could cause the problems I've been enduring for several months now:

After my computer has been running for awhile (several hours), I frequently endure a condition where the following happens:

1. Mouse/cursor hangs up;

2. Hard drive access light flickers on and stays on for several seconds at a time while cursor hangs up;

3. It's seems to be in/on the hard drive, as the Task Manager shows nothing amiss save a large (up to 95%) usage of the processor for brief periods, while the accompanying bar graph shows almost nothing.

I'm thinking something (the Indexing Service???) is hanging up the hard drive, but I'd THOUGHT I turned it off some weeks ago, after a message I saw in another forum. I can't even remember how to get there again, and naturally Microsoft is no help.

What else could be causing this? The only way I can stop it is to shut down the computer, after which the problem goes away for several hours.

Finally, could this also be causing the graphic images on my screen to hang up when I'm switching between applications while multitasking?

THANKS!

Chuck in Norman, OK

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Computer/mouse hanging up with no apparent cause...
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.