Computer Help forum

Question

Cloning

by konakai / July 10, 2013 6:57 AM PDT

I am trying to clone one drive to a new drive. I am using EaseUS Todo Back up 6.0. My computer recognizes the new disc but ask me if I want to initialize it. The cloning software does not recognize the new disc so I only get disc one listed for the source disc and the target disc which of course will not work. I am doing this on a computer that is not connected to the internet. I always thought that if you were cloning from a disc with an OS on it already you did not have to initialize the new disc that it would format during the cloning process. I have never done a clone before so I guess my questions are, 1. Do I have to be connected to the internet to clone if I already have the software on the computer? 2. Do I have to initialize the new disc before the cloning software will recognize it? If not how do I get the cloning software to recognize the new drive?
Any help truely appreciated, Thank You..

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Cloning
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Cloning
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.