PC Applications forum

General discussion

Clone or image - best disaster recovery method?

by jtryan789 / February 10, 2008 2:22 AM PST

I just bought a Seagate FreeAgent external USB 2.0 drive. I downloaded the Seagate DiscWizard vers 10.0 from Seagate site. I want to use DiscWizard to make a clone of my internal hard drive to the external FreeAgent drive (just for back-up purposes, not to boot/run the computer). Would appreciate thoughts on this situation:

1. When I have successfully cloned my internal drive to my FreeAgent external drive for backup pruposes only, in the future will I be able to use DiscWizard to clone the FreeAgent (cloned) drive to a new internal drive (i.e., the FreeAgent external drive serves as a bridge between my old internal drive and new internal drive)?

2. Is there a better way for me to achieve my objective? For example should I be doing disc image vs clone? I am new to these processes and not sure of the difference?

Thanks

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Clone or image - best disaster recovery method?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Clone or image - best disaster recovery method?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.